top of page

Study in New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country situated in Pacific Ocean. It comprises two main landmasses one is North Island and other is South Island. People from New Zealand are internationally called by nickname Kiwi. This name derives from the kiwi, a flightless bird, which is native to, and the national symbol of, New Zealand. This country provides quality and cost effective education of high international reputation. It has a progressive education system with many state of the art facilities. New Zealand’s cities are very calm, clean, peaceful and beautiful, and offer a safe learning environment with excellent study opportunities and support services. New Zealand institutions, like Universities, Colleges, Polytechnics and Institutes of Technology, Secondary Schools and Private Training Providers provide a wide range of study courses for international students.

New Zealand Government has strong national quality assurance systems, designed to help institutions maintain the quality and consistency of training and assessment programmes. It has eight national universities offering degree programmes in academic and professional studies. All the universities offer core degrees in the field of Arts, Business and Science, each has its own distinctive profile. For example, Auckland and Otago have the country’s two medical schools, featuring hospital-based learning, whereas Canterbury and Auckland have an international profile for their engineering courses. English is the everyday language in New Zealand and students find it very easy to study, live and interact with other people. Students can work part-time upto 20 hours a week during the academic year and full time during the Christmas and New Year holiday period at the end of each academic year provided they are enrolled for full-time courses that are of atleast 12-month duration and/or meets some other criteria. Spouses of student on Work Visa can work full time, but the dependents of students on visitor visa have no work rights. After completion of studies, students are further encouraged to stay behind and work.

Capital:  Wellington

Official Languages:  English, Maori

Government:  Unitary Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy

Population:  4.5 million people

Climate:  Sub-tropical and temperate climates respectively for the North and South Island

Currency: New Zealand Dollar (NZD)

Country Calling Code: +64


List of Major Universities and Government Institutions


  • Manukau Institute of Technology  

  • Unitec 

  • Whitireia Community Polytechnic

  • Otago Polytechnic


  • CPIT


  • Otago Polytechnic


  • Waikato Institute of Technology


  • Eastern Institute of echnology


  • Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology

New Plymouth

  • Western Institute of Technology

Palmestorn North

  • Universal College of Learning



  • Waiariki Institute of Technology


  • Bay of Plenty


  • Whitireia Community Polytechnic

  • Wellington Institute of Technology


  • Northtec Polytechnic 


bottom of page